Help choosing a 210mm workhorse Gyuto...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steampunk

Reaction score

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)? – Gyuto (Workhorse)

Are you right or left handed? – Right handed.

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle? – I am used to a western handle, but am open to a Wa-handle.

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)? – 210mm

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no) – No

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife? - ~ $225

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment? – I am an at-home cook, although I do occasionally help out some friends with their catering business.

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.) – I tend to use a gyuto/chef’s knife for everything; slicing & chopping vegetables, mincing herbs & garlic, cutting up fruit (Slicing apples, sectioning grapefruit/oranges, etc.), slicing cooked proteins, and cutting the occasional sandwich or pizza.

What knife, if any, are you replacing? – Victorinox & Wusthof

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for the common types of grips.) – Pinch grip