Moving to Chicago! Information appreciated

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tbott

Reaction score
Hey folks. My lady and I are moving out to Chicago in mid-February. We are two twenty-something Californians who have spent the last few years living in Truckee (Lake Tahoe), where we've spent most of our time enjoying gravity-fed outdoor activities and mountain town lifestyle in general. I'm curious if anybody out there has any advice for making such a move to a big city, and in particular, this big city. Any information would be appreciated, but I'm primarily curious about neighborhoods you'd suggest we look at (youngish, but not college-y, preferably with good bikeability/walkability/public transportation), tips for renting in general in the city, and what kinds of places/activities we should make sure we check out to get acquainted with the city. I'm a cook, and I'll be looking for a place to work, so suggestions on places you've enjoyed eating or working in the city would also be helpful. Any information would be good. Well, anything constructive anyways...don't want to ear any "don't go there!"s. Thanks in advance.

T

Why would you want to move from Heaven to Hell????? I guess you're replacing mountains with skyscrapers. Good luck. Oh, and be very careful driving across country this time of the year. Winter storms in the midwest can be mean, vicious and brutally cold.

I'm guessing you're no stranger to cold weather, but Chicago gets COLD!
I'm currently in the process of opening a restaurant in Chicago (with the group I work for) not too far from downtown. I know very little off the city, but I'm learning quickly. If you're interested in some finer details, feel free to shoot me a pm.