Newbie Recommendation Request for (Ceramic?) Honing Rod

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geopatriot

Reaction score
I’m a home cook and I just started assembling my first upgrade of quality knives. My no-name grooved steel was fine these many years, as I was using a no-name industrial chef’s knife. But, I know my new set deserves much better.

My new chef and utility knives are AEB-L. I have a Nakiri and Gokujo boning knife and two others that are VG-10. And finally, the odd-man out, a Friedr. Dick 1905 Slicer that is most likely X45CrMoV15 (listed as XCrMoVMn) at 55HRc. I have a nice set of four sharpening stones on their way which I have yet to master. Given the above, what type of honing rod would you recommend for everyday use? I’m assuming that a ceramic rod is the way to go? I’d really like to keep this under $100 and preferably somewhere closer to $50.

If you have set of sharpening stones, than I do not really see the need for a sharpening rod. Honing rods are mostly used with softish steel knives (like the Dick you have) that wold not hold the edge long enough anyhow and respond well to honing rod. However with the rest of your knives the Honing rod would be too slow and you would probably just mess up the bevel you have made with the stones.

My advice - practice with your sharpening stones - have a look at sharpening playlist from Jon from JKI - and save yourself the expense of sharpening rod. You do not really need it.

To expand a bit on the previous answer (along with attempting to persuade you not to use a honing rod on Japanese steel):

Hard knives like those made of AEB-L and VG-10 and much harder than anything besides ceramic, borosilicate, or diamond coated rods. Nothing steel will do a thing for you.