have you ever sent back a bottle of wine?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boomchakabowwow

Reaction score
you know the pomp and circumstances..you get a tiny taste? and "okay" the bottle?

you ever get a bottle that you sent back? what happens? does the sommelier snap into action and do things. :)

i like wine, but i am not a pro. i was thinking that i have never seen a bottle sent back. not that i remember.

I'm in the same boat. But I was helping out at a dinner recently and got to spend time with the wine guy. He opened >24 bottles that night. One was corked -- it was definitely noticeable. Something you would send back in an instant. Funny thing was it was a dessert wine (a Sauternes), which he indicated is much rarer to find corked then a regular wine. In this instance you would typically expect to get another bottle of the same wine.

Now if I ordered a wine and just plain didn't like it, that's a different story. The 'taste' you do at the table is to check for the wine being corked (as I understand it), and not to see if you are happy with your selection.

There's a grayer area though if the sommelier recommended the wine to you, and you taste it and do not like it. In that instance I think they will typically get you a bottle of something else.

I've returned a couple of bottles that were recommended to me. This was after telling the sommelier the style of wine we were looking for and he totally missed the mark. It was no big deal either time. The bottles were in the 50 dollar range.

Once I've okayed a wine I've never had the need to send one back. But... I don't let them rush me. I check the color, swirl the wine for a good 10-15 seconds, and smell the wine a few times before I swallow. I figure after all that once accepted it's on me:biggrin:. Of course if its a 20 dollar bottle of wine the process is much quicker!