270mm Carbonext is too long for me - How to decide between 210 or 240?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JWK1

Reaction score
Hey All, I've been using this 270mm Carbonext for about 2 years now and it's just too long for me. I do all the cooking for my family and I'm retired now so I'm doing even more cooking. I learned from a friend way back in the 70s that a chef knife is used to rock and chop. Well, now because of the internet I'm using chopping and push cuts and still trying to learn other basic techniques that will help my cutting be more efficient and enjoyable.

The problem is that I have no frame of reference to help me decide between a 210 or 240. I used a 10" Chicago since about '78 up until I got my Carbonext, but I don't cut the same way anymore and also would never go back to such a thick blade.

Any suggestions for how I would make that decision?

If you're used to a 270, a 240 should definitely feel shorter. Plus, if you have previous experience with a 10" and felt okay with it (even if that was a long time ago, and your technique has changed quite a bit), you should be okay with a 240. If I had a single knife, I'd rather have a 240 than a 210.
In other words, does the 270 feel a little too long, or a lot too long? If you've been using it for two years, I'm guessing it's only a little too long.

How about going to a kitchen supply store that stocks knives of different lengths and trying them out?
How much counterspace do you have? If little, I would go for 210. Most people say that a 240 is more versatile, but for home cooking I don't think it's an issue at all.