upgrading stones

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spoiledbroth

Reaction score
Ok. Time for another round of spend my windfalls for me KKF.

I am a professional cook. I work pretty often. I prefer to sharpen my knives at work rather than at home.

Currently I have some strops a dressing plate and a king 1200 and king 4000 (base, all they had in stock at my local woodworking place at the time).

I don't mind the king 1200 it's a decent stone for a basic steel like aus 8 or X50CrMo14. It is a good general use stone that will stop at for my fkm petty, wustie boning knife and my yoshihiro 1141 suji. problem with this stone is that any kind of better steel, vg-10, 440, aus10, ginsanko or semi stainless the stone glazes almost immediately and requires a boatload of water to cut at all.

the king 4000 kind of blows. the base makes it pretty unsteady and it is the smallest size stone king offers. it glazes on any steel. takes forever to work up swarf and I just find the edge it generates isn't tremendously impressive. nice reflective finish though.

thing is as I upgrade my knives I find these stones cut slower and slower and even though I get better at sharpening I also make bigger mistakes I feel due to fatigue. So I'm looking for a quick cutter that won't glaze up too fast (or at all... does this exist?).

for roughly the same amount CAD I can get either:

beston 500
bester 1200
rika 5000

OR

chosera 400
naniwa pro 1000
chosera 5000

which do you think I would be happier with given my comments above? the discrepancy in price is maybe 30 dollars with the naniwa obviously being the more expensive option but it'll be shipped domestic ... The first option is obviously from the vendor nobody likes but despite their reputation I think these are supposed to be pretty good stones the rika especially. Then again naniwa has a wonderful reputation...