Please tell me if you think the stones I'm about to order, are the right ones for my needs.

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimyfirm

Reaction score
I'm new to knifes and sharpening, I'm trying to decide what knives I think I need. In the mean time I'd like to order 2 or 3 stones, I think the Naniwa Professional Chosera 1000, 3000 and 5000 is a good start. I'm looking for stones that aren't to soft and cut fast. I think those stones will be fine for sharpening good carbon knifes, I'd also like to sharpen softer knifes on them as well. Thats the part I know nothing about, will it ruin the stone? If it will damage the stones is there a product available that I could sharpen both types of steel with?

Naniwa stones are fine...I wouldn't think you'd need 1,3 and 5k. Maybe 1 and 3 or 1 and 5 depending on how you like your edges. Eventually you will want to add a coarse stone to the mix.

You'll need something to flatten your stones with as well and I would recommend a diamond plate for this.

I've read that softer steel can clog the stone, I don't know if thats true or not. If it is, and my stone gets loaded up with the softer steel, how do i clean the stone?

The older iteration of the Naniwa professional stone (Chosera) included a nagura, not sure if the professional stones do or not? The diamond plate could be used for this in conjunction with flattening

Ok thanks! Just so I'm clear, if the stone gets clogged I can use the diamond flat plate to unclog the stone?

Any recommendations for a sharpening book? I look on Amazon and see quite a few, like everything else, there are good ones, bad ones and everything in-between. Just like to get some opinions

Thanks in advance