Talk me out of a Shun Premier Nakiri as my first "higher-end" knife!

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lukehod

Reaction score
I am a ex-professional cook who now cooks daily at home and I'm looking to get a new knife for myself as a birthday present. I currently have a handful of Victorinox Fibrox knives (Chef's knife, utility knife, serrated, and paring) that are my daily workhorses, but I'm looking for a nicer blade thats a bit more specialized.

I do A LOT of vegetable prep at home so I've been looking at a nakiri as it looks like it suits my style the best. I work in a small town in Alabama so I don't really have a place to go and try knives out, but I have amazon prime and the Shun Premier Nakiri looks like the perfect knife for me: I love the shape and size of the knife, and the finish of the knife really appeals to me.

I see that Shun tend to be described here as overpriced for the quality of knife. What nakiri would you guys recommend then to someone who is new to japanese knives? I hone my knives regularly, but I do not have stones to sharpen or a sharpening service available nearby so keep that in mind for a blade that has more maintenance.

I am right-handed and have only western handles. I use a pinch grip if that helps at all either. I like the length of the Shun Premier Nakiri (5.5 inch), as I dislike using huge knives in the home environment. I use my 8" chef's knife for most prep work, but I want something that handles vegetables better. My knife now tends to stick too much, even with a sharp edge and it is a bit annoying and slows me down.

My price range is <$175 so please give me some recommendations for why I shouldn't just go ahead and pull the trigger on the Shun Premier now. Thanks guys and gals!