Need help choosing 240mm gyuto, new to japanese knives

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rernst

Reaction score
Hey all, just some quick background before I get into the questionnaire. I'm very new to the "serious" world of kitchen knives. A year or two ago I bought a three piece "classic ikon" set from wusthof. These were the first knives I had ever spent any sort of money on. They were very sharp for me for about 8 months, but then they started getting more and more dull. So I bought the book "An Edge In the Kitchen" from Amazon hoping to learn about kitchen knives in general, as well as how to sharpen my wusthof knives.

I'm about halfway through the book, haven't gotten to the sharpening part yet but I have realized that I need to add a new knife to my collection. The Wusthof set I bought came with a 6" chefs knife, which I have learned is entirely inadequate, especially for my size (6'1" with large hands). So I have decided I need to add a 240mm gyuto to my collection.

I began doing some research and realized that the kitchen store japanese knives appear to be overpriced and I can probably get something much better if I looked at some non-big-brand knives. I started trying to do this research on my own and realized there were just way too many choices and it would take me ages to sort through all the options. Then I found this forum and I'm hoping you guys can help me out.

My girlfriend has offered to buy the knife for my birthday, but I don't want to ask her to spend more than 200. Less would be better, with $150 being the sweet spot probably. I have a separate personal budget for sharpening gear, but probably don't want to spend much more than $100 if possible, at least at first :biggrin:.

USA

KNIFE TYPE