What did you do this week?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThEoRy

Founding Member
Reaction score
I fed over 10,000 people. What did you do?

Climbed a 2400M 7800 ft mountain, created a new dish for the restaurant I work at, apple and black tea risotto with bison sausage. Fed countless famillies, saw my first wild bear and sharpened a few coworkers knives. Even managed to take a nap Saturday, it was nice.

I saved a bunch of money on my car insurance by switching to Geico.

I butchered about 800# of brisket, made 80# of sausage from scratch, injected about 400# of pork butt, strained 70 gallons of meat inject (the damn filters on the industry sized meat injectors are a bit TOO fine IMO), watched both Fletch and Beverly Hills Cop, and drank about 30-40 beers and 4-5 shots of various anejos.

I fed over 10,000 people. What did you do?

I finished a masters degree at UCSD, sharpened a bunch of knives, bled some (yes, I'm an amateur), and spent the weekend hanging at a hotel on the beach with my wife.

spoke mostly japanese, ate out with a bunch of knifemakers from sakai, talked to about 5000 people, and showed visiting japanese people a restaurant in LA that serves better japanese food than what they could find at home ;)

I made bacon and pickles...built a SV chamber from an especially sturdy styrofoam container, which failed after being subjected to 170F for 48 hours...skinned 3 pork bellies...rebuilt a media server...rebuilt a HTPC...edited 20,000 lines of code...rode my bike 100 miles...and cooked a decent dinner every night of the week, tonight it was a soft, french-country style cheese omelette with hashbrowns, homemade bacon, and english muffins toasted on the griddle with ghee.

Last edited:
Hiked, biked and started making milk kefir. A nice week that pales in comparison to other posts:)