Is using a mandolin cheating?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mangelwurzel

Reaction score
Hi folks

I'm going to be cooking boulangere potatoes for the first time this weekend and the recipe recommended using a mandolin to slice them very finely.

I felt a little conflicted when I went to buy a mandolin as it kind of feels like an admission that my knife skills are not up to the challenge. I'm just a home cook but I think that my knife skills have developed a fair bit over the last few years with my interest and use of high quality kitchen knives. But I just don't think I'd be able to slice potatoes 1-2mms thick as consistently and evenly as a mandolin can.

Interested in hearing peoples' views on whether mandolins fill a definite void left by japanese knives or whether I'm just being lazy...

It's just another tool in the kit. I'm not afraid to admit I use a kevlar glove while on the mandolin. Lost a fingernail or two in the past so....

It's just another tool in the kit. I'm not afraid to admit I use a kevlar glove while on the mandolin. Lost a fingernail or two in the past so....

:plus1:

Speed, consistency in cuts which aids in consistent cooking, plus once you start using it, the ideas you come up with to use it for are fun!

Just put your knives away so there's no hard feelings :) They're great for potato chips.

+1 on the Kevlar glove. Most painful cut I ever had in the kitchen was on a mandolin. Made a nice even slice of finger tip though.