Help on Gyuto and Beater combo

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JLaz

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a working cook in a low volume fine dining establishment in search for a go-to carbon gyuto for all veg and protein prep needs and a stainless chef beater for splitting shellfish, poultry carcass, dense produce.

Philippines (It will be easy, though a bit more costly to purchase from the US)

KNIFE TYPE
240mm-250mm Wa-Gyuto (I am not a carbon purist. I just want pure performance as these knives will see lots of work in a professional kitchen)

240-250mm Western Beater (Preferably stainless as I don't intend to baby this knife)

KNIFE USE
I currently use a 250mm molybenium vanadium Across Chef Knife and a 210mm Takamura R2 (red handle). I intend in replacing the euro knife for a better beater with no bolster as the bolster is a PITA on the stones. The Takamura I intend to keep as a stainless laser for acidic veg and fruits.

I use pinch grip for almost all tasks except for slicing where I use a pointing grip. I use all cutting motions but I push cut more often as demanded by my prep.

In terms of improvement:

1. I'm hopping for a gyuto with a more fitting size than my 210mm takamura that will fly through prep, keep a very sharp edge and will be nice on the stones. I'm looking for a gyuto with a nice grind for food release, thin tip for tip work and a nice flat back end.

2. I'm hoping for a rigid beater that can fill in for all the tasks the more fragile gyuto should not do.

KNIFE MAINTENANCE
I sharpen my own knives with Tsukiji Masamoto #1000 and #5000 stones (I'm in the market for a 10k stone aswell)

I use wooden boards at home and polyboards at work

Knives I'm currently looking at:
Gyuto:
Masamoto KS 240mm
Konosuke HD2 240mm
Takamura HSPS Pro 240mm

Beater:
no idea yet.

Thank you in advance. I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

Julian