Need help to choose Chef Knife

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nirmitlamed

Reaction score
Hello to everyone, i didn't find any guidelines to open a post so if i did something wrong please let me know.

I am really a newbie in Japanese Chef Knifes so i would very appreciate if you could write in a simple way that i could understand you.

I live in Israel so it need to able to send the knife to here.
Right now i have some regular Victorinox chef knife and can't stand it any more. my main use is cutting a lot vegetable and fruits not meat or chicken. I Don't want it to be able to get rust. minimum maintains as possible unless it a must.
I am using cutting board made of Okolon. This is the best picture i found:
http://www.simhim.com/plasec.JPG

Don't know if a more D shape is better to me, i can only say that i use the wave technic to cut.

I thought buying Shun kai or Miyabi chef knife but after reading on the internet i have found out that there suppose to be a better knifes for their worth.

I willing to pay between 100$ - 200$ but if you think there are better knife at a little higher range, i'll willing to pay.
Please let me know if i should buy a sharpener tools too.

Thanks!

You can check out http://www.hocho-knife.com. They have competitive prices and will ship to Israel direct from Japan.

My few of my suggestions would be (in either a 210 mm or 240 mm gyuto as you prefer)
Masahiro MV Honyaki
http://www.hocho-knife.com/masahiro-mv-stainless-honyaki/

Sakai Takayuki 33-layer damascus VG10
http://www.hocho-knife.com/sakai-takayuki-33-layer-vg10-damascus-hammered/

Misono 440
http://www.hocho-knife.com/misono-440-hyper-chrome-molybdenum-stainless/