Honyaki Mirror Gyuto use and maintenance

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JLaz

Reaction score
I am literally close to pushing the buy button on a Sukenari Honyaki W#1 Gyuto 270mm.

I've been sharpening my own knives for 2 years now. I'd say that I am pretty decent on the stones. I've been looking for suggestions in a previous thread and personally, it boiled down into seriously considering a Honyaki Mirror-finished gyuto as a prep knife at work. I really dig the history and craft in making the said knives and if there are performance advantages over the usual carbon steel knives, albeit minimal, I am all for the minimal gain. Although, I am a little held back by the assumed maintenance needed to keep the finish in tip-top shape.

Just a little background:
I use and keep my Blue#1 Kasumi Deba and Yanagiba patina free using a simple rust eraser. I work in a low-volume fine-dining restaurant where organization, precision and consistency is much higher regarded than shear speed. Hence, I am fortunate to have a kitchen that allows me to carefully plan all my mise en place at the start of the day, set up my station properly for every task, have ample counter space for any project.

It would really be great to hear from you guys who have more experience using and maintaining these artful tools on the trade. Will it be manageable and would you care to share how you care for your knives?

BTW, I am literally close to pushing the button on a Sukenari Honyaki W#1 Gyuto 270mm