CJA Edged Art / Scorpion Forge 240 Extra Heavy Gyuto

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bob_loblaw

Reaction score
I don’t see a lot of postings on here about Cris Anderson’s work, so I figured I’d put up a review/first impressions of my recent acquisition from him. Seeing as how this is a new knife with ~1 week of use, I figured I split up the review into 2 parts- first I’ll tackle the immediate reactions, and then after the honeymoon’s over in a couple months I’ll cover the long-term stuff.

In fair warning- I am not a professional chef, I’m just a home cook who loves sharp pretty things.

Intro:
I first came in contact with Cris’ work at the 2015 ECG. The knife attendance was what you’d expect from a gathering of this sort- DT, Haburn, Carter, Shig, Kato, Mario, Marko…the list goes on. Of all the knives I got to try, the passaround from Cris definitely stood out; it was thin behind the edge, fell through food with no sticking, and not to mention it looked pretty freakin' sweet! After doing a little bit of research and talking to Cris I decided I wanted to jump in the deep end with my first custom and get on his wait list.

Working with Cris: