Sharp enough?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigboybrent

Reaction score
I have a Kikuichi TKC 240mm. The only stone I have is a Bester 1200 that Dave recommended to me. I just started learning how to sharpen knives this past year. With my stone I can get it sharp enough to go through paper without ripping/tearing and shave hair off of my arm. Is this sharp enough?

I mean I want another stone. However, I have a hard time convincing the wife to let me get another one. I never hide the fact from her that my knives are sharp ( and cut paper in front of her after every sharpening session :happy2:) but that I want it sharper. I end up losing. Any of you go through this?

Well sharpness differs from person to person. Some like a love of toothy edge while some love full on polish. If you are happy with the edge you get, and it lasts long enough then no need. Speaking for myself I have the same knife and I'll take it all the way to a Kitayama 8-12K and it holds up good in a pro kitchen. But if you are looking for an inexpensive higher grit stone Arashiyama 6k I've heard is a good one, King 6k (used for many years works very well) Sanyo is my current 6k and also a great buy or a Rika 5k. Hope this helps and others will chime in as well.

+1 that sharpness differs from person to person. I think it also depends on what you're cutting as well.