how robust is the seasoning on your DuBuyer skillet?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boomchakabowwow

Reaction score
i'm relatively new to carbon steel pans.

you all motivated me to try it. for the most part it is awesome. it has taken a fair share of the workload from my old griswold cast pans.

what i dont like is how delicate the seasoning is. yesterday i tossed a few coins of andouille sausage in the pan to set on top of white beans and the pan now has shiny spots where the sausage seems to have cleaned the pan of seasoning.

i'm not convinced i'll ever get it to the level of my cast iron in terms of seasoning.

i dont wash it..if it gets bad, i might boil some water in it and wipe it out. that move has taken off seasoning. if i had a Griswold with sloping sides, i might never get into carbon pans. :)

Carbon steel does not get the same bullet proof seasoning as cast iron, but it is far easier to apply one (I use the stovetop method). Don't over think it just use it knowing you can always repair the seasoning with a quick heating on the hob and wipe of oil.

If you ever need to scrub the pan just add salt and a bit of oil and go at it.

It took a full year of regular use before my first deBuyer was a certified badass. They just love to be used, and used a lot. It's ugly as sin and not nearly as uniform as the seasoning you can get on cast iron, but the performance is there and it never really lets me down. My second deBuyer doesn't see much use and I tried to force a season a bunch of different ways... it's lackluster at best. Maybe just bad technique on my part, but the impression I get is that you just gotta put the time into using the hell out of them.

Interesting... I would've thought that the grease from the sausage would HELP the seasoning, not damage it. I presume you didn't use metal tools during cooking?