disgusting kitchen

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nianton

Reaction score
So I've been working at this restaurant for 9 months. When I first started I was told it was the dishwasher responsibility to clean the floors at the end of the night. After a couple months of working i realized the job want getting done correctly. The dishwasher would sweep, splash some water on the floor and mop.... that's it! I brought this to the attention of both sous chef's and the chef. I told them to order scrub brushes and sqeegee and I would do the floors. This was 6 months ago and still nothing. Seasons over and it's slow so I got with a fellow cook and said "let's clean the floors". I went next door and borrowed a brush and sqeegee from another restaurant. I pulled this out from under the salad station on my first pass. imagine at least 10 piles of trash like this pulled out from under equipment all down the line. It smelt like I was swimming in a dumpster. At least a year worth of trash was pulled out. And the sous and chef act like it's no big deal. I think ill be looking for another job.........

get the **** out of there! ive been working in kitchens for about 15 years now. there is a lot of disgusting **** like that going on. got to be careful where to eat...

The sad part is that this place is supposed to be a high class fine dining restaurant and is in a wealthy part of town. This place is a joke and so are the people that run it. The thing is potential employers ask why most places I'm at I'm only there for a year or two, we'll because I run into crap like this. So now I'm collecting evidence to show potential employers and say "this is why I left" this whole town is filled with ignorant wannabe chefs