Newbie question for Japanese knives

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brianb

Reaction score
Hello All, hoping for a little help/direction here. I currently have/use a couple of Wusthof knives in my kitchen and use a couple of King waterstones....I am thinking of getting some Japanese single bevel knives for the kitchen. I am an amateur cook, so these are for home use only, I am fine with sharpening and maintenance, and I really like the rustic look (Ho wood handles, etc),. I have seen some online, but I have no frame of reference for whats any good....does anyone have any recommendations on some Japanese style, single beveled, ho wood handled knives...say at or below $200 per knife? If it can't be done, then I fully understand...wasn't sure if that pricing was too low for home quality knives.

Brian

Opps, just saw this part, so adding to avoid getting the dirty looks :)

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in CHEF, SLICER BONING, PARING, VEGETBALE

Are you right or left handed? RIGHT

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle? JAPANESE HANDLE

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)? VARIES

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no) NO

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife? $200

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment? HOME

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.) MEAT PREP< DEBONING< VEGETABLES< FISH

What knife, if any, are you replacing?