Quantcast
New stone lineup...
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New stone lineup...

New stone lineup...

Hey guys... I've been sharpening all along with some OK stones, and I think I'd like to upgrade for a few reasons: 1) bigger stones; 2) better sharpening experience; and 3) faux kasumi finishes! There are some other reasons in there, but I really would like to keep this progression to 3, maybe 4 stones. As I'm a home cook, and I'm still a novice at sharpening (who isn't?), I think more than 3-4 stones (except the DMT plate) would be excessive, and I don't think my wife would put up with any more! Here is what I'm thinking:

Existing stones:
    DMT plate
    700 Bester
    King Combo 1200/8000

What I'm thinking:
    DMT plate
    700 Bester
    1200 Bester
    2K blue Aoto
    5K Gesshin

I don't do a lot of fancy protein cutting, so I think 5-6k really gets me where I need/want to be with sharpening as most of my cutting is pretty normal stuff (onion, garlic, taters, etc.).

I've read great things about Gesshin 5k... I suppose I have three main questions:

1) is the 1200 necessary? Can the Aoto handle the 700 scratches, or do I need the 1200k?

2) If I'm wanting to get a Kasumi style finish (e.g. contrast in a Yoshikane.. or some haze on my Konosuke Chuka, sharpened hamaguri style) this is where the Aoto comes in... is it odd to have this as a mid stone? I'm assuming the Gesshin can't do this, right?

3) Any other recommendations? Again, I'm trying to keep this to a 3-4 stone lineup, nothing crazy!

Thanks everyone!

I'd check with Jon on what type of contrast the Gesshins can give. I have the 2k and it gives decent contrast with mud. It doesn't look like a natural stone kasumi finish, but there is contrast.