Quantcast
Crazy sharp
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Crazy sharp

Crazy sharp

I'm just a home cook, and happy to spend more time sharpening than cutting. I want to get my knives as sharp as possible, just for the principle of it. OK, I'm just a knife nut.

I have been studying the subject for a while, and bought DVD's, and practiced. But I am still looking for the best answer.

Once I get a decent edge, how do I get the ridiculously sharp edge?

De-burr with cork or soft wood or stones or leather?

Strop on fine stones? Superfine stones? Leather strop? Newspaper? Microbevel?

Knife nuts, help.
    If you reach the age of 60 without becoming a curmudgeon, you haven't been paying attention.

how about you tell us what you are currently doing.

but even before hearing what you do ill say these things:
    there are really no magic tricks other then spending time on the stones and holding consistent angles.
    kinda like me asking my buddy who has been sharpening for years why he gets a better edge off a 500grit stone then my 10k polished knife.
    he reply would just be try to practice more perfectly because perfect practice makes perfect.

i agree with dough. buying dvds, spending time reading on these forums, talking to people, and buying expensive stones wont get you the experience you will get from getting your hands muddy.

there are so many things you can learn from everyone here and from dvds but none of them can come close practice from putting in hours and hours on the stones

I have now Tormek T7 bought from new with the spare "japanese waterstone wheel" of 4000 grit.
    Whats important is that machine keeps continously angle close to perfect, but theres more to sharpening than that only.

The experience you gain is the feeling under you fingertips, when you just know where you abrade, you know how and where to press, and also what stones/strops/magic use.

Noone can tell you whats best, just work it out yourself.