Jns medium sharpening set

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The easy answer is yes, that's an excellent one and done set of synthetics.

What kind of knives will you be sharpening? The hard set might, in theory, be a better fit.

The easy answer is yes, that's an excellent one and done set of synthetics.

What kind of knives will you be sharpening? The hard set might, in theory, be a better fit.

I have two CTS-XHP stainless from Butch which I want to treat well.

A very old carbon cleaver I picked up in Chinatown so don't know the exact composition.

An iron clad blue 2 core Tanaka and

A r2 core stainless damascus clad Syousin

Plus an assortment of Henckles.

I'm just getting into better knives and want to take good care of them from the get go.

I appreciate and and all feedback.

We are fortunate that a couple of our vendors have put together house "sets" of stones that work well together.

I like Maxim's Splash and Go offerings a lot. The JNS 300 is my favorite coarse stone - some feedback, true S&G, can't seem to dish the thing. Fugly stone though. The 1K (and older 1.2K) are very good med stones. I finish Gyutos on the JNS Auto and/or 6K. Also have his 800 around just cause.

You've not mentioned a preference between S&G or Soakers. I like the soakers for feedback but have been using S&G lately for their convience. The difficulties in soakers is not in getting them wet - that's easy. It's a PIA to get them dry. If you can do a permasoak you will probably find them more pleasant than S&G.

JKI also has some stones that work well together but that's for another subforum.

At this point I don't have a preference for a soaker vs splash and go. Based on what I've read here you TEND.to get more feedback with soakers...