Hello from Yorkshire

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Judderman

Reaction score
Hello

I'm a keen home cook who has mostly bumbled along with an uninspiring set of Richardson Sheffield knives and a few Wursthof Classics. Use a free hand whetstone to keep my cheaper blades sharp but am always too scared to go near the Wursthofs as I would be the first to admit I'm not great at it. A recent trip to Japan and the subsequent impulse buy of https://www.amazon.co.uk/Knife-Cult-Craft-Culture-Cooks/dp/1849498911/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1479662290&sr=1-1&keywords=knife]this has really stoked my interest and I have been lurking for a few weeks.

First jobs are to buy something I feel comfortable sharpening my better knives with (maybe a Spyderco Sharpmaker) and to identify a santoku I picked up with minimal research in Japan, but mostly just to learn a lot more before making my next knife acquisition.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome J... I'm new here as well. Welcome! You're gonna want to check out the sharpening sub forum.. ask questions... get answers... learn lots!!! Good luck on your new journey!

Btw.. me I freehand on stones:biggrin:

Welcome!

One thing, just sharing. Many years ago I had the spyderco sharpener. I was a bit afraid of going freehand as I thought I would "damage" the geometry of the knives I had at the time so it looked like a great option. The problem is that it comes in a predetermined angle, so if the knife you want to sharpen does not have a bevel at that same particular angle (and most likely it doesn't), then you won't be hitting the edge, thus you won't be making your knife sharper. Using those for hours and seeing no change in sharpness is definitely frustrating.