Vanadium and natural stones

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CB1968

Reaction score
Dear KKF's, I am new to J nats ( thanks Badger ) and I have a question that i am hoping you can all help me with, the question is can J nats be utilised to put a good edge on knives with high Vanadium content such as A2, and numerous PM steels certainly Devins mystery carbon springs to mind?
I have found through experience that diamond works best on these steels, I have tried sharpening these steels on Choseras, and most especially the A2 just tends to glide across the top of the stone even on lower grits and you really get nowhere, numerous knife makers have told me that I am delirious trying to sharpen these types of steels on anything but diamond?
I have just spent a fortune on different natural stones and am hopeful that they will be multi purpose so any feedback and advice would be greatly appreciated
David

No experience with A2, but my Chosera and J Nats are just fine for PM steels like SRS15 and R2.

I should collect more experience with natural knives soon, but my first guess is that they are not the best for steel with high resistance to wear - and A2 definitely belongs in that category.

I should collect more experience with natural knives soon, but my first guess is that they are not the best for steel with high resistance to wear - and A2 definitely belongs in that category.

Thanks Matus, that is what I also believe, for steels with high Vanadium content I think diamond is ideal, just wanted to check, my experience tells me that A2 is very difficult to remove steel from with anything apart from diamond.
Have you any experience with any of the other traditionally used US steels such as CPM, AEBL, W1, W2, 52100 etc?

hiho!
i had to sharpen 2 knifes from my mom last week.