What's Your Knife of Choice for Hard Winter Squash?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jljohn

Reaction score
The title says it all. What's your knife of choice for hard winter squash? It doesn't matter if your answer is a Japanese or a Western knife. I'm interested at 2 levels: first, what shape (gyuto, chef's, suji, etc), and second, what exact knife (eg: 240mm Masamoto KS).

I feel like I can cut just about anything well and safely with what I have, but large winter squash present a challenge for me (especially with wedging and sticking). FWIW, I'm a home cook, not a pro.

So, what do you use?

I personally use a thick and heavy German knife with my wrist torque. If not, I just use a thin japanese blade, but with only vertical movement.

We don't have anything called winter squash in Aus AFAIK. Is it similar to pumpkin? I use my Wustie on pumpkin skin.

I use a cck 1303 on spaghetti squash because it's really thin and cheap so I don't care if I ruin it. Everything else gets whatever I might have on hand.

My old tungsten Mac Ultimate 265mm gyuto.

Same, my go-to for this kind of job is also a Mac Ultimate chef (but mine is the 230 mm). I recently picked up a Masahiro MV 240 mm gyuto workhorse (the full tang Western handle version), and it's got a bit of a beef grind (with a distal taper), and I might probably use it for squash sometime in the future.

The trusty WMF Spitzenklasse 8" Chef's Knife, similar to typical Wüsthof knives. The steel is soft enough to be nearly indestructible, but its still possible to get it sharp for real cooking. I have started to use the Tadafusa 240mm Gyuto (Blue 2) for such things though, I am more careful with it though... just straight down, no funny stuff :)

I have a small Stihl chain saw. A little noisy, the fumes take some getting used to. Either that or a Forgecraft.