voids

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rmbonham

Reaction score
What product do you use to fill voids in your burl woods? Do you use colorants to match the woods color and if so how do you go about it?

Apparently CA (Super) glue is the preferred method, but I am very new to the technique.

Depends on how large they are. Really large ones, I try to avoid and sort out the wood. Very small one, I use CA glue or epoxy. For medium ones, I use epoxy, either plain or with a bit of saw dust from the same wood. That usually comes out a bit darker than the wood itself, so it depends on where it is and what it looks like. Sometimes I throw them away if the voids look ugly or cut them into spacers, a few I have put on my own knives when everything else was fine.

Stefan

Ive been using a product called "Zap A Gap" from one of the knife supply houses. Its just a larger tube of CA, it is pretty thin, and soaks right in. Bigger voids need 2 or 3 applications to fully fill. Ive always used CA so Im not much help!

God Bless
Mike

This how to, was provided by Stacy Apelt.
He is a very talented blade smith I know from another forum.
Here is how I (Stacy) make all the pits, lines, open grain, and voids disappear on a handle.

BEFORE WORKING ON THE HANDLE OF ANY KNIFE, TAPE UP THE BLADE WELL TO PROTECT IT AND YOURSELF FROM UNWANTED INJURY.
A coat of Renaissance wax before taping makes the tape easier to remove, and keeps glue from getting under the tape as bad.

Some woods, like you koa, have a large and open grain, with some "cracks" in it.
Some woods, like stabilized redwood, buckeye burl, and most burls may be full of voids and large cracks/splits.
Some woods , like walnut, just never seem to get fully smooth,no matter how fine you sand.
Some woods, like black palm, are more like a bundle of rope than a grained wood.

How do you deal with these situations?