Looking for a great Chefs knife to learn skills on

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AVClub

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am looking for a great chefs knife to learn my knife skills on. I am a home cook and I would say im fairly skilled at many aspects but really want to increase my knife skills. I currently use a cheap cuisinart set and mainly use the 8" Chefs and 7" Santoku. I am looking for something that will last a lifetime and be a great knife (if possible in my price range of around $200). Heres my answers to the questionnaire: Thanks!

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)? Chefs / Gyuoto

Are you right or left handed? Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle? Western

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)? Around 8”

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no) No

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife? $225

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
At home – I want this knife to be a high quality knife that will last a lifetime, but that I can learn proper knife skills on and eventually sharpening (I will probably learn to sharpen with cheap knives that I have and then move to this knife)

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.) slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, and slicing meats

What knife, if any, are you replacing? Cuisinart knife set (poor quality)