Reduce Full Tang

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KillerB215

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to kitchen knife forums but excited I found this place.

I'd like to make my wife a nice chef's knife. She is an excellent cook and it's long over due that she has a proper knife to use. I've heard good things about Alabama Damascus Steel and have settled on get this: http://www.alabamadamascussteel.com/alabama-damascus-blade-ads0080-dkg/

I don't like the look of pins in the handle though. I'm a woodworker and feel like it interrupts the flow of the wood grain. I'm wondering if it is a bad idea to grind this tang smaller, narrower, hidden/stick tang" (I may not be using the proper knife making terminology). If it's not a good idea, what purpose to the tang pins serve? I would like with modern epoxy, they wouldn't be needed 100% necessary.

Thanks for your help

Welcome to the forum.

Grinding steel that has been hardened will be a beetch. Both removing steel and keeping things cool enough to not lose temper. Not for me.

It doesn't matter if you heat up the tang and lose the temper there. You just don't want to lose the temper at the cutting edge. If you're planning to belt sand or grind it down, make sure you don't heat up the blade when you do it.

If you're brave, you could wrap the blade in wet towels or keep it in a ice water bath and selectively draw down the temper of the tang with a torch then saw it down when soft enough. You still risk damaging the blade temper at each of these steps.

I think Dave Martell and others here have done this conversion more than once and can drop by to share their knowledge about best practices for it.

Welcome to KKF Killer. :)

So a few of comments on the blade you're looking at buying....