Looking for knife to compliment current knives

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brew

Reaction score
I am a home chef looking to add a knife to my set. I'm uncertain which type of blade might offer the most utility without overlapping with my other knives too much.

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)? Uncertain. Maybe nakiri, santoku, or smaller gyuto

Are you right or left handed? Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle? Japanese

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)? 180-240

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no) Yes

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife? $250

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
At home

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.)
Primarily slicing and chopping vegetables. Maybe light boneless meat duty.

What knife, if any, are you replacing? None, looking to supplement 240mm Tanaka Ginsan Gyuto, 150mm Tanaka Ginsan Petty, 270mm Kohetsu HAP40 sujihiki, and 10.5" MAC bread knife

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for the common types of grips.) Pinch

What cutting motions do you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for types of cutting motions and identify the two or three most common cutting motions, in order of most used to least used.) Push cut, chopping