Chipped my Toyama - help needed with repair

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all!

So, it seems I managed to chip my Toyama 150mm petty in its first few weeks of use... I have actually no ideia how I did this, only noticed because the tip was having a hard time making horizontal cuts into an onion. You can see in the pic below that there are two small chips near the tip.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8whNyGUZqBJa2hoc1NfMFRmbEE

I'm not an expert sharpener by any means. Actually just got my first stones and started practicing. So I have some doubts on repairing this:

1- first, assuming I didn't drop this knife or banged it, what could have caused this? I don't do anything stupid to my knifes (use a hinoki board and make sure to stay away from bones, frozen food, etc). I never sharpened the Toyama, just started using it OOTB. Could it be the "factory" edge?

2- second, how exactly do I repair this, and what grit should I use? Should I sharpen as usual, until the chips are gone? I have a Gesshin 2000, a JNS 6000 and a diamond plate from JKI (bought it to flatten stones). Should I get a coarse stone, or can I use the Gesshin? Would the diamond plate be overkill?

Thanks in advance!

Just sharpen as usual and they will be gone in a session or two...

As to how it happened no idea... might just be some fatigued steel still at the edge... or hit something harder whole cutting, bumped a bone maybe... who knows

If you want to keep the blade profile as it is you could just sharpen like you usually do until the chips are gone. Or you could maintain the blades profile, but lose some thinness at the edge and sharpen at like a 40-50 degree angle until the chips are sharpened out using a low grit stone (this is an easy fix but you would need to do some thinning afterwards).