Public Service Announcment

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I know this is a knife forum, but wanted to post this anyway in case it helps just one person.

A very dear friend just lost their father unexpectedly. Their mother is reeling and my husband and I are trying to help where we can as our areas of expertise lay.

The father had a computer which was password protected. Thinking he was invincible, the father didn't share the password with anyone. All finances are stored on the computer. My husband will try to hack the password next weekend.

Fortunately the mother did pay most of the bills. Since my friend is kind of in shutdown mode I sent them the following email (at their request) as kind of a financial reminder what should be done. Remember, I'm an accountant by training and have taken several business law classes.

"Again, so sorry for your loss, please pass our thoughts on to your mom as well.

A few thoughts, take them all as applied to general situations.

1. Take care of yourself
2. Take care of your mom
3. Get several copies of the death certificate.
4. Get your Dad's wallet and call every credit card company and have him removed as a primary user. HOPEFULLY your mom is primary on at least one credit card, and if not, you may need to leave one open until she can open a card in her own name if any credit card company will not transfer the primary card to her.
5. On the above they may ask if you have power of attorney, ask your mom if it's ok for you to take care of this for her. Then you can answer yes. (technically this is not correct, but I have a blank POA template to send them in case anyone asks)