Sous Vide sous vide safety?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

floggindave

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a home cook trying to branch out and I've recently bought an anova sous vide (800w bluetooth model) to try and enjoy. The biggest concern I have is about how to avoid botulism. Ive read through the forums here and in other places, but I seem to be finding answers more vague than I'd like.

As far as I understand, you can take refrigerated or even frozen meats, place them in your airless bag of choice, be it vacuum or ziploc, and let it cook for the recommended times and temps. This pasteurizes the food, kiling the bacteria.

From there, the process seems to muddy. I havent found a definitive answer on how long foods can be left out, if it matters if the food is still in the bag, or if it matters that you've seared the food after cooking sous vide.

For example, if I have prepared steak or chicken this way for my family, removed it from the bag and seared it, and then eaten and had a chat, is this meat still ok to be put into the fridge after 30 minutes or an hour and rewarmed tomorrow or will I have served someone death for lunch the next day?

Im sure that's an exaggeration, but theres no real process detailed anywhere ive seen. If someone could give me a casual home cooks process on how to safely sous vide and take care of any food left over, I would appreciate it.

So after youre done cooking your meat, youre going to either want to use it right away or put the bag in an ice bath to cool it down. If youve opened the bag but have left overs, let the meat cool down, and then vacuum seal it again and store it in the fridge .