Misono Handmade Santoku

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donhoang14

Reaction score
Hey everyone. So after a lot of thinking and reading throughout this forum, I bought my first Japanese knife after using German for so many years. I went to a well known and respected knife shop in Amsterdam, where I live, and did some talking with the people there. For my first dip into Japanese knives, I ended up getting the Misono Handmade Series Santoku. The guy helping me out told me that I don't need to use a ceramic honing rod and that I can use a diamond one instead. This helped me in my decision because I already own a diamond rod and I already have some equipment to help keep my new guy taken care of. I have a cheap 400/1000 stone I plan to practice on with my diamond rod to help keep my edge. I work as a vegan chef so on a daily basis I'm constantly choppin on hard vegetables.

Can anyone confirm that it's ok to use a diamond rod? If so or if not, can someone comment on this too? I forgot to ask him and I trust the advice and experience in this forum enough to educate me :)

Cheers to learning new things!
Thanks in adnvance for all your help

Don

I would say it's totally within the realm of reason but much less the desirable

Using a rod is an emergency solution. A diamond rod though is far too aggressive and will destroy your fine edge.
Best solution is getting a 3k or a Belgian Blue and strop and deburr on it as a daily maintenance. Please respect Misono's strongly asymmetric configuration.

Diamond rod no. Black ceramic from mac? Only for emergencies and only a few light swipes on each side. No Chinese sword fighting.

Using a rod is an emergency solution. A diamond rod though is far too aggressive and will destroy your fine edge.