• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Kitchen Knife Forums and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member which comes with a decal or just click here to donate.

Natural Stones

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Regretfully, its time to downsize the jnat collection, including some rarer ones. CONUS shipping included, international shipping is extra. I will consider trades or part-trades either way, particularly for customs, usuba, tanaka ironwood, watanabe, Y. Ikeda

Also, its my first time trying google photos out after Photobucket went down the drain, so let me know if anyone has problems with the link. Follow the link below for pictures.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4OFO1Dwz8-yZ2xQTnZ4d3lENFE

Maruoyama Shiki Uchimugori, 182x65x55, 1600g- $350

Very nice polisher, very muddy and soft. Easy and forgiving stone to use. Got this from Watanabe and its his usual high quality stuff. The center line is benevolent.

Takashima, 200x75x40- $400

A full-sized takashima that are getting difficult to find these days. Soft and muddy, with hints of red, its good for polishing, kasumi, and leaves nice edges with a bit of tooth and bite.

Shinden Awasedo, 208x78x37- $250

Harder and finer, this stone is best for edge work, though it can do kasumi finishes with a bit of finesse. I think this is an older stone. It has hand saw and chisel marks on the bottom and its lacquered with dark cashew. Greenish grey when dry, it turns a really deep forest green when wet with a few stripes of different shades visible.

Ohiro Tenjyou Suita, 205x67x31, 1022g- $250