Looking for recommendations in a professional setting

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mcwag

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm somewhat new to Japanese knives and am looking for some input on making a decision. I come here with this request because another forum I've been on only recommends knives sold by a particular supplier and I'd like to know what all of my options are. So getting to it, I'm a cook so I want a knife that can stand up to a professional environment. I'm looking for either all stainless or stainless clad. Edge retention is important to me. Don't want to have to take to the stones too often. I currently have a double sided oil stone and a king 1000/6000 combo. I like being able to rock chop. I currently use mostly my tojiro dp 210, Mac chef line 210, and wusthoff classic 8". I plan on sticking to the 210's, and a western handle. My budget is $250 max, but would prefer to be under $200. I've gotten a couple of really good recommendations, I just want to know what else might be out there that fits my criteria. Thank you all so much in advance for your input.

Welcome to the forum. What kind of prize do I win if I guess the particular supplier? :groucho:

So you want a Western handled Gyuto, 210, stainless or stainless clad that has a little belly for rocking? 200ish?

Sounds like your describing a Gesshin Ginga from JKI or a Tanaka Ginsanko from Knives and Stones. Nothing wrong with any of the Misono Moly series from Korin either.

Only link handy: https://www.japaneseknifeimports.com/collections/all/products/gesshin-ginga-210mm-stainless-gyuto

Takamura HSPS

HSPS = high speed powder steel, the most edge retention for your money, period. It'll handle weeks of pro volume prep with light touch ups on loaded strop or very fine ceramic rod

Takamura has ridiculously good grinds too - here's mine