Shapton Pro 1000 or Bester 1200

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sac36555

Reaction score
I’m new to sharpening and have decided to go with an intermediate stone (1000-1500) and a polishing stone (Suehiro Rika 5000) to start out with after much advise. My last decision is between a Shapton Pro 1000 or a Bester 1200. They are within $5 of each other, so price isn’t a determining factor. Which one do you guys like better and why?

I have not used the Bester. But Shapton Pro 1000 is crazy fast and has a very usable feedback. Dishes slowly. I use it mainly to clean up bevels when I make knives as I use Gesshin 2000 as a medium grit stone for sharpening. But that is just because I really really like the Gesshin so I decided to divide the tasks this way.

I love these kind of comments. Absolutely useless, lol. I don’t mind the feedback, but at least give logical, first hand experience why you wouldn’t choose either stone.

Ha Ha! First off Besten or bestor stones ive owned were horrible and I think I just threw one away. The shapton 1k is ok, but much better out there. I personally like my shapton glass 1k better and generally prefer the glass over pro.

I’ve not used either stone mentioned, but in this grit range I do enjoy the King 1200, which is generally well regarded if you don’t mind a soaker stone.

I also have had some positive results with both the JNS Matukusuyama 1000 (splash & go) and the King Hyper 1000 (soak for 15 minutes), but don’t have enough time with either to strongly endorse, though, again, they both are generally well received. Not sure what stones you’ve researched and thought I’d mention a few contenders...