after a weekend of woking, some observations.

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boomchakabowwow

Reaction score
main observation..i suck at it. i am prepped to the max, and i am still playing catchup. i vaguely remember my stepdad turning off the fire as he goes between some ingredients. i'll try that.

plus i think i have to turn my wok burner down some. i need to adjust my regulator so that my knob thrown full "jet" isnt some insane fire.

and seasoning a wok. come-on!! i am a total rookie, but i think that every time you use a wok on a proper wok burner, you damn near vaporize your seasoning. its the insane heat that skips your food across the surface without sticking..no?

i've stripped my cast iron seasoning by accidentally leaving it on lit stove top, or on purpose in a self clean oven setting..my wok gets hotter than that, i think.

i'm gonna stick with it. i've made Beef Chow fun..it sucked. beef with bitter melon - i give it a five out of 10..and deep fried oysters. 8! the grand finale was salmon head stir fry with ginger and green onions. 9! <--this was actually my first dish!!

tonight, shrimp with scrambled eggs. it's anybodies guess at this point.

i actually ran out of propane at the end of my beef chow fun, the second the wok cooled a tad, the food stuck. hench my seasoning comment above. i'm gonna ask a few chinese cooks.

and seasoning a wok. come-on!! i am a total rookie, but i think that every time you use a wok on a proper wok burner, you damn near vaporize your seasoning. its the insane heat that skips your food across the surface without sticking..no?

i've stripped my cast iron seasoning by accidentally leaving it on lit stove top, or on purpose in a self clean oven setting..my wok gets hotter than that, i think.