Quantcast
Sharpening Start
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sharpening Start

Sharpening Start

Hello all,

I'm rather new to the world of cooking, and in particular, knives.

Nevertheless, I've rapidly acquired an interest and would like to learn how to sharpen my knives.

After some initial research, I think the following would be sufficient for my current needs.

King Combination 1K/6K stone + a flattening stone

http://www.epicedge.com/shopexd.asp?id=80006
    http://www.straightrazordesigns.com/...plate-220-grit

Any thoughts, recommendations, or further considerations on a starter sharpening set (higher/lower grit, nagura stone inclusion, etc)?

I'd like to keep the budget under $100 total if at all possible. Poor college student and all that.

Thank you,

-taketori

1k and 6k will take of pretty much all your sharpening needs. There are better 1k and 6k stones out there than the King combo, but at a greater cost. The combo should be fine for someone starting out on a budget.

Most people here use Atoma or DMT plates to flatten their stones. They are more $ than the one you linked, but work much better.
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

Nope. That's a great way to start.

I'd also get something to deburr into, whether it's a piece of ultra rock hard felt, or a cork, or rubber.

Great recommendations, but I would also invest in a therapist to counsel you on potential addiction issues to come. Just kidding....sort of.

k.
    "In Japan they don't call it Japanese food, they just call it food." -- Children's Hospital Quote

That's a nice starter set and you shouldn't really ever need to upgrade. You just won't be cool, lol.

The alleles created by mutation may be beneficial

Quote Originally Posted by tk59 View Post
    That's a nice starter set and you shouldn't really ever need to upgrade. You just won't be cool, lol.
    Agreed on both counts.