Quantcast
Call me crazy
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Call me crazy

Call me crazy

I'm a chef, I use tools, I like my tools to show tear and wear. I don't like bling bling, I like rustic. I sometimes put a new surface on my knifes - just grinded/sanded my HG yesterday to make it look as I prefer it - not shiny. You can call me crazy - I think I'm not ... this is how I like my stuff.

How do you like yours?

I can't really say I've spent much time changing the finish of my knives. A few of mine are scratched to hell from thinning but it doesn't bother me, you don't notice it much after a while

I will have to call you crazy for getting an HG and un-polishing it. I am not a pro so my answer to your question is SHINY!!!!!

That's how I feel about handles. I want a plain black utilitarian handle.

-AJ

I like my knives as I like my girls: Sharp, beautiful and shiny. Sure its fun to **** around with a ugly tramp now and then, but the ones you show you friends are always the good-looking ones. So I go for high end in both areas

Quote Originally Posted by oivind_dahle View Post
    I like my knives as I like my girls: Sharp, beautiful and shiny. Sure its fun to **** around with a ugly tramp now and then, but the ones you show you friends are always the good-looking ones. So I go for high end in both areas
    So I take it you're not a fan of kurouchi? I think DwarvenChef will not be pleased

I'm a chef who also feels that my knives are tool; however I like a bit of refinement in my tools. I don't mind scratches from thinning or rustic finishes but I also have some that I keep shiny just depends on how the knife came to me more or less. Then again I did grind off the KU look on my Moritaka after the scale came off on its own.

Shiny, dull, kasumi, rustic, kuro-uchi, etc. can all be done sloppily or well. As long as it isn't sloppy-looking, I'm fine with just about any finish.