Dinner Parties

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bcrano

Reaction score
So I cook as a hobby, a way to relax, and give back to those I love. This is one of the reasons I don't think I could ever cook professionally -- I don't think I would care to toil over a plate of food for someone I didn't care about. But that aside, recently as a way to stretch and grow as a cook, I've started having dinner parties and serving 5 or 6 courses to those invited. And lately a few have gone rather well and so I thought I would share some of the menus I've done so far and maybe you guys would contribute some that you've done.

I'll start with a party we had about a month ago. I'm a great lover of bourbon and so one day, a light bulb went off over my head.

Bourbon Tasting Dinner
Guests were invited six course meal, price of entry -- a bottle of nice small batch bourbon to taste along with dinner.

SCALLOP CRUDO
served on a cold salt block with orange zest and chive oil
paired with an Aperol cocktail with strawberry infused vermouth and LaPhroaig

B.L.T. ESPECIALE
slab bacon cooked in honey, green heirloom tomato, butter lettuce
paired with Origine Bourbon

RAVIOLI ALL'AMATRICIAN OUTSIDE IN
homemade ravioli with the all'amatriciana on the inside, served in a butter sauce
paired with Four Roses Single Barrel, from CASK in San Francisco

LAMB RACK
sous-vided and finished in a pan with thyme with honey aioli and roast asparagus
paired with Black Maple Hill -- my favorite

SHORT RIBS
braised in wine, pulled off the bone and glazed served over polenta con fungi
paired with more Black Maple Hill

OPEN FACED ICE CREAM SANDWICH
home made chocolate chip cookies with vanilla and pear ice cream covered in burnt carmel sauce and sautéed apples.
paired with LaPhroaig