Quantcast
Boardsmith vs all others
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Boardsmith vs all others

Boardsmith vs all others

I know everyone here likes to say boardsmith is simply the best. I have no experience and they look great, but I get the feeling shipping to Canada isn't going to be that fun. Was looking at getting something like this:
    skinny:http://toshoknifearts.com/shop/acces...24-x-18-x-1-12
    fat:http://toshoknifearts.com/shop/acces...24-x-18-x-3-34

Am I going to regret this? Should I just get a sanituff instead?

As I am sure others are typing as I am responding to this, that is an edge (side?) grain board rather than an end grain board like the boardsmith. A lot of people swear by end grain since you are not slicing the grains of the board like you do in an edge grain. Edge you cut between the fibers, edge you cut across them.

Love my Boardsmith, but if you are that concerned about shipping costs, isn't there a Canadian maple company that does end grain boards?

Most people here prefer end grain to side grain. You should be able to find a place in Canada that makes end grain boards. Are there Etsy craftsman in Canada? I know Pierre has made a few boards. Im sure our other canadian members will chime in with solutions.
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

Quote Originally Posted by mc2442 View Post
    As I am sure others are typing as I am responding to this, that is an edge (side?) grain board rather than an end grain board like the boardsmith. A lot of people swear by end grain since you are not slicing the grains of the board like you do in an edge grain. Edge you cut between the fibers, edge you cut across them.

Love my Boardsmith, but if you are that concerned about shipping costs, isn't there a Canadian maple company that does end grain boards?
    I already emailed the shop to see if the mill has end grain boards. I don't see why they wouldn't..I see the mill's website has end-grain "other stuff".