Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ebay Yanagi

ebay Yanagi

I have heard that blueway japan is a good seller and was curious about your folks thoughts on this knife. I am considering buying it, just would like some input.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/230693141567...84.m1423.l2649

Any thoughts, good or bad?

I have no idea but it's damascus, nice-looking handle and a decent size for under $200. How does someone make a good knife for that kind of money? Seems too good to be true. If you are looking for a model, it's probably fine but I would expect to find some sort of grind issues or other. Then again, it is Blueway... Good luck!

I have no experience of this particular knife, but I've bought loads of knives from Keiichi and they are generally fantastic value. Just something I noticed, isn't that particular knife White #3? So maybe that explains why it is so cheap

If you plan to make a yanagi and want to have one up close to study, you should just borrow one from a member here. I agree with tk on probability of it being a low quality knife.

M

"All beauty that has no foundation in use, soon grows distasteful and needs continuous replacement with something new." The Shakers' saying.

If my KKF Inbox is full (or not), please contact me via Email: anvlts@gmail.com

BWJ sells knives from several different makers. I have 3 knives from Yusuke (all great), but none from the maker of this yanagi. This knife is white #3 per the spec's. Personally I would get one of his other yanagi's made w/ white #2 even though they are not damascus. And I agree w/ TK and MT - how good can they really be for under $200. They may have grind issues, but for a learning yanagi I think they're prolly fine. Also check Yoshihiro Cutlery on eBay for other low-priced yanagi's - they all come w/ saya's. mpp
    Shibui - simplicity devoid of unnecessary elements