Quantcast
Vitamix advice - Page 3
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 84

Thread: Vitamix advice

  1. #21
    Senior Member ThEoRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central Jersey
    Posts
    2,979
    Debate? What debate? Get a vitamix variable speed every time.
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

  2. #22
    Senior Member Johnny.B.Good's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    2,956
    Quote Originally Posted by ThEoRy View Post
    Debate? What debate? Get a vitamix variable speed every time.
    This is what I was hoping for...a solid consensus!

  3. #23
    Senior Member Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    493
    Imho, you definately need the variable speed as stated by others. The high speed will foam up a puree with way too much air.
    Everywhere you go, there you are.

  4. #24

    JohnnyChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,028
    Quote Originally Posted by ThEoRy View Post
    Debate? What debate? Get a vitamix variable speed every time.
    +10000000.

    I was going to say this exact same thing if you didn't.

    If you want Shun equivalent to the Vitamix, get any other brand. If you want a real blender, get the Vitamix.

    And the fact that the Blendtec doesn't come with a plunger is completely mind boggling to me and a total deal breaker.
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyChance View Post
    And the fact that the Blendtec doesn't come with a plunger is completely mind boggling to me and a total deal breaker.
    When do you need the plunger?

  6. #26
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    4,227
    Quote Originally Posted by UCChemE05 View Post
    When do you need the plunger?
    If you are making very thick frozen products, they sometimes freeze together.

  7. #27

    JohnnyChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,028
    I use the plunger every single time I am blending something. Yeah, sometimes you can blend stuff without it, and even to this day I will go without when I think I don't need it. But I am always wrong. It comes out better, faster and more consistent with the plunger. I use it for everything, from cracking whole peppercorns to making purees.
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    mr drinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    St. Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,079
    Pureeing sweet potatoes for baby food demands a plunger.

    k.
    "In Japan they don't call it Japanese food, they just call it food." -- Children's Hospital Quote

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    704
    Thanks guys you've made up my mind on the variable control. What about containers? $500 for one large container, or $650 at costco.com for 2 large containers, one small dry container, plus some knife and cutting board set (lol).

  10. #30

    JohnnyChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,028
    How much extra crap do you need in your kitchen? How often would you be blending multiple items during the same prep time? I think I would save the $150.
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts