Quantcast
Another what to buy post!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Another what to buy post!

First post on here and another of those what to buy posts!

I'm looking to purchase either a Gyuto or Santoku willing to spend up to $500, in the UK we don't have such a great selection to choose from unless I decide to import.

I'm really after a quality knife and not so much looking for asthetics, more interested in the quality of the steel/performance etc... I used to be a carpenter and all tools were lie Neilsen/Veritas with A2 steel blades etc... also have antique warranted Sheffield steel tools etc... so not new to sharpening and the feel of a quality steel/blade.

I've contacted the Watanabe site but have as of yet had no response and am considering this Tanaka knife (although not too keen on the "decoration");

http://www.kinknives.com/tanaka-kniv...-170mm-47.aspx

But this knife has also caught my attention (4th knife down - handmade Santoku):

http://www.fine-tools.com/messerp.htm

But my question is although its much cheaper Dieter Schmid is a highly respected retailer over here in the UK and Europe and although these knives are from a seemingly little known maker (outside of Japan) they intrigue me. They have the functional look I like BUT my concern is around the HAP40 steel used in their manufacture. Its a Hitachi Powdered HSS and I'd never heard of it, looking at the Hitachi brochure it is indeed very hard (67 on Rockwell scale) and less prone to chipping. But few other knife manufacturers use it, either because it is not suitable or little known?

I'd very much value anyones opinions or experiences with any of the above but particularly the HAP40 Gihei Knife.

Try Maksim @
    http://www.japanesenaturalstones.com...s.asp?Cat=1477

he has santoku and gyuto that might fit your bill.

Look on Japanesechefsknife.com I think they ship worldwide cheaply.

Engorged Member