Yoshihiro anyone ?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knyfeknerd

Original Knerd of Knives
Reaction score
Anybody got an opinion on Yoshihiro in general. What I'm looking at is a white steel yanagi. Great price but need some feedback. JKI carries some but I rarely hear anyone speak about them(but then again I'm fairly new to being addicted this bad)

I have a Yoshihiro 270mm White 2 yanagi. Its a solid performing knife. Good fit and finish. Takes an edge quickly. For that price range, I don't think you'll find one better.

http://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/showthread.php/5232-Yoshihiro-Honkasumi-Deba-21cm?highlight=

I think plenty here thinks it must be expensive to work well.
Maybe if you think so, it actually somehow influences the happiness you have from working with cutlery.

From what I can tell you, if you dont choose the cheapest from ebay, which is a gamble, the one from Jon should totally satisfy you. Unfortunately, if you dont sharpen, ask him to add sharpening service of the knife to the total cost, as it comes arse-dull when new.

Totally worth the price though.

I've been quite satisfied with the Yoshihiro stainless 240 mm gyuto I recently acquired. I've inspected a number of other Yoshihiro knives and found them to be consistently well ground and finished for the price.

tk59 when you received the knives were they sharp? The post linked makes me worry that I'm about to recieve a dull knife.

if its ok for me to comment, i will say the ootb edges are so-so on the double bevels and slightly less on the single bevels (as is often the case with single bevel knives)