Stoopid things Waiters do...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jameson

Reaction score
Hello All,

Just wanted to hear from some chefs some foolish and (what chefs deem to be) insulting activities made by waitstaff.

I work as a salesman, and part time (2-3 shifts) as a waiter at a fine dining establishment here on Long Island. I have been working part time as a waiter since I graduated from college 12 years ago to pay off that education (which none of my professors said I would have to do) and in that time working in Manhattan (Michael Jordans, Sparks, Bobby Vans, Strip House, Monkey Bar) and Long Island (various) I have done many things that for some reason made the chef angry. I have had Rolling carts of food flipped onto my person/uniform (the chef was released from his position 15 minutes later), been told I had to sign suspension papers when the chef cooked an entire tables worth of porterhouses MedWell when i ordered Med Rare (Which I refused to sign and returned to work the next day with no reverberation), and even fired by an executive chef, only to be chased down the block by the GM asking me to please stay.

Most often, what the chefs are upset about it is me SPECIFYING the dishes on my tickets so as to prevent mistakes or the old "you never told me that". The you never told me usually comes when i have no room left to modify the ticket through the computer and have to go to the kitchen to speak to either expediter or chef to talk specifics. ALSO, please understand I tell customers that there are NO substitutions, that we can say leave off the potatoes and order a side dish of something different, but the chef will not substitute. I don't want to modify the chefs dishes, the customers want the changes....

For instance: