Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: #6 Cleaver: Gesshin Ginga vs Sugimoto and Mizuno

#6 Cleaver: Gesshin Ginga vs Sugimoto and Mizuno

I am after a #6 Cleaver and having read everything I could find on various forums I have narrowed it down to Gesshin Ginga, Sugimoto and Mizuno. Although I think no one would really go wrong with any of those I still can't decide.

What I am looking for? Obviously a full size chinese slicer. What I value most:
    - Geometry comes first. A convex grind that goes very thin as it approaches the edge. Not too much belly. The CCK small slicer is my reference there. Something like that but in full size and a little bit more might on the top half part of the blade maybe (not so flat) .
    - Then comes steel. For me it is about ease of sharpening, edge stability and edge retention. I am a home cook so I am not looking for a workhorse. Could be something more delicate. Shigefusa Kurouichi Nakiri and Takeda Guyto are my references there. Something at that level. I will favor stainless this time, provided it comes really close to carbon in these areas.
    - F&F. I can live with a CCK no problem. But at this price range I won't tolerate sloppiness. Not willing to rehandle either.

So far Sugimoto seems a no brainer but it is carbon. Mizuno also fits the bill but is the more expensive of the bunch, also carbon, I have read about finishing issues with the handles and I would have to order from Japan. I will be visiting the states soon so I would rather something available online there.

Therefore, I am also tempted by the Gesshin that looks very good on paper: Stainless, consistent F&F, grind looks good on the photos, profile is ok (not too much belly, like I like it). But I have found almost nothing in terms of user experiences with it.

So anyone can comment on the Gesshin in comparison with the above in terms of geometry, steel and edge qualities and overall usage experience? Preferably somebody who have handled all three if possible?

Thanks