Quantcast
shrinkage - Page 3
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50

Thread: shrinkage

  1. #21


    Dave Martell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Airville, PA
    Posts
    9,487
    I did this for the above test image uploaded from my PC directly to the KKF server...

    Go Advanced> Manage Attachments> Add Files> Select Files> Upload Files


    What are you doing?

  2. #22

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Rockport, TX
    Posts
    4,892
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Martell View Post
    What are you doing?
    Drooling on those handles. I love maple.

  3. #23
    Senior Member Namaxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lenox, MA
    Posts
    621
    OK...testing adding the image using the exact steps you wrote.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #24
    Senior Member Crothcipt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    wyoming, closer to nowhere than somewhere.
    Posts
    3,501
    When I click on the image, the new one looks about the same size as the one shown. I am wondering if the size of the one you get from clicking is set from download?
    Chewie's the man.

  5. #25
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Pensacola, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,812
    You have to be aware of the size of the image you are uploading to the KKF server. Thumbnails are generated at 402 pixel horizontal resolution. If your image is only slightly larger than that, then the two images will be close to the same size. Namaxy's uploaded image is 420 x 280, so there is little difference in the size. Keep in mind that if your image is less than 402 horizontal pixels, that a thumbnail is not generated, but the actual image is used. So, check the size of the image you are going to upload. If you start with a small image, that's all you're going to get.

    Now, bigger is better, up to a point. Why up to a point? Well, the server software is configured to limit the size of the stored image to 1024 horizontal pixels. If you attempt to upload an image with a higher pixel count, it will be resized.

    Some examples:

    Uploaded a 2289 x 1289 pixel image; file was resized by the website software to 1024 x 576.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG2289x1288.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	130.0 KB
ID:	8634

    Uploaded a 1280 x 720 pixel image; file was resized by the website software to 1024 x 576.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG1280x720.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	134.6 KB
ID:	8633

    Uploaded a 640 x 360 pixel image; file uploaded at 640 x 360.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG640x360.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	160.3 KB
ID:	8632

    Uploaded a 320 x 180 pixel image; file uploaded at 320 x 180, no thumbnail generated.

    Name:  IMG320x180.jpg
Views: 62
Size:  44.8 KB

    Bottom line is that you have to control the size of the images you want to upload. Best results are from images that have a horizontal pixel count of more than 1024.

    Rick

  6. #26


    Dave Martell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Airville, PA
    Posts
    9,487
    Thanks Rick, that explains it well.

  7. #27
    Senior Member Namaxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lenox, MA
    Posts
    621
    I appreciate the explanation Rick, but for some reason it isn't working that way for me. I've found there are two ways to load a photo from my computer. 1. Following the exact steps that Dave outlined, and 2. (the way I used to do it) by clicking the insert image icon above the text field. When you 'go advanced, manage attachments' the photo shows, but with the paperclip attachment graphics around it....when you insert image it does so right in the text.

    HOWEVER....either way I try, it resizes my photo down to 420 x 280, so that when you click on the inserted image in the post, the resulting pop up image is no larger. The images that I upload are significantly larger, yet they don't scale back to 1024 x 576 as you indicated...they go all the way down to 420 x 280. For example the image in my post above is 5184 x 3456 on my desktop. When I uploaded it, the uploader showed it to be about 5.2 MB. Yet it defaulted back to 420 x 280. Is it possible that the size is too large for it to scale to 1024 x 576?

  8. #28

    JohnnyChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,028
    Quote Originally Posted by Namaxy View Post
    HOWEVER....either way I try, it resizes my photo down to 420 x 280, so that when you click on the inserted image in the post, the resulting pop up image is no larger. The images that I upload are significantly larger, yet they don't scale back to 1024 x 576 as you indicated...they go all the way down to 420 x 280. For example the image in my post above is 5184 x 3456 on my desktop. When I uploaded it, the uploader showed it to be about 5.2 MB. Yet it defaulted back to 420 x 280. Is it possible that the size is too large for it to scale to 1024 x 576?
    I thought of this too. Maybe trying scaling back the 5184x3456 image by 50% then upload it again and see if the server properly resizes it.
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

  9. #29

    JohnnyChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,028
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

  10. #30

    JohnnyChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,028
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts