Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What should I buy thread?

What should I buy thread?

I've been looking for knives to expand my three knife collection. I got into nicer (nicer than what you'll find at home goods) knives when I bought a Ken Onion santoku that was on sale at Williams-Sonoma. Im pretty sure it's a 6 inch santoku and I've literally used it for everything since for a long time it was my only knife. Now I have a Shun Classic pairing knife and a no-name $28 sashimi knife from a local asian store.

I'm still relatively new to nice knives so forgive me if I've answered these questions incorrectly.

What type of knife(s) do you think you want?
    I think I want a 210mm or 240mm chef knife. I think this means I want a gyuto?

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing?
    Since my largest knife is a 6"santoku, I think it's time I got a bigger knife.

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already?

Aesthetics- Love the damascus steel look. Though on my next knife, I think I'd like the look of carbon steel with a patina. (I've been creeping through the pictures.
    Edge Quality/Retention- The shun is still sharp enough to dispatch tomatoes with ease though it's 2 years old and has never been sharpened. The edge does have noticeable imperfections and the side of the knife scratches easily.
    Ease of Use- The knife is absolutely not good for chopping. Slicing through a stack of veggies is easy enough and comfortable but I need something bigger.
    Comfort- The handle s ridiculously comfortable and I never get blisters or sore spots even after lots of cutting. No complaints here.

What grip do you use?
    Pinch.

What kind of cutting motion do you use?
    The only one I can at the moment. Forward/backward slicing with the tip always in contact with the board.

Where do you store them?
    On my cutting board, since there's only three of them.

Have you ever oiled a handle?