Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Beginner looking for a chef's knife

Beginner looking for a chef's knife

I'm extremely new to this whole knifey thing and have been suffering through an old set of RACO for a while. I've got a cheap bread knife and am getting a couple of Victorinox paring knives because I'd prefer to spend my money on a decent chef's knife.

I hesitated to post such a green question, but after going through the first four pages of the board didn't see anything that really matched my query so thought I'd ask!

What type of knife(s) do you think you want? Chef's knife

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing? Getting rid of the old cheap block set and miscellaneous cheapies, need something good as my main knife.

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already?
    Aesthetics- Neither like nor dislike my current all-stainless (inc handles) knives. I'm partial to a good looking knife but it isn't the most important consideration.
    Edge Quality/Retention- Current ones are terrible and it's important to me that the new knife holds an edge
    Ease of Use- No idea really
    Comfort- Average, never really had a problem, except during big dinner party prep.

What grip do you use? Hammer, willing to learn pinch

What kind of cutting motion do you use? Rock and walking mostly.

Where do you store them? Current site and spine-down in their knife block. I'll either get a case or a block that holds the knives on their side.

Have you ever oiled a handle? No.

What kind of cutting board(s) do you use? Wooden board for vege, plastic boards for meat/onions

For edge maintenance, do you use a strop, honing rod, pull through/other, or nothing? I have an old steel rod that seems to get my RACOs reasonably sharp

Have they ever been sharpened? No

What is your budget? Around $200, no more than $250

What do you cook and how often? Quite a variety, a lot of roasts.